Loading...
Loading...
Route by route, the careers that build on a UPSC preparation: government exams, teaching, law and development work, with the age limit for each.
Separate two decisions that feel like one. The first is whether to try again. The second is what to build alongside or instead.
If you are still weighing the first, read what to do after failing Prelims and whether UPSC is worth it for you. And if the result has hit hard, our guide to preparation and mental health is the place to start.
Start here if you want the quickest return. The closest match is a state PCS: several copy UPSC’s three-stage structure, and the main addition is state general knowledge.
The full comparison is on exams similar to UPSC, and UPSC’s own non-CSE exams are listed on exams conducted by UPSC other than CSE.
| Exam & conducting body | Age limit (General) | Eligibility | What to know | Official |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAPF Assistant Commandant (AC)UPSCCloses by 27 | 20–25as on 1 August 2026 | Graduate | Gazetted officer entry to BSF, CRPF, CISF, ITBP and SSB. The written stage is Paper-I, General Ability and Intelligence (250 marks), and Paper-II, General Studies, Essay and Comprehension (200 marks). Paper-II overlaps the most with CSE preparation.Practise its previous year questions → | upsc.gov.in ↗ |
| EPFO — Assistant Provident Fund Commissioner (APFC)UPSC (for EPFO)Closes 28–37 | Up to 35as on age reckoned as on the prescribed closing date for submission of the online application — 11 September 2026 for this advertisement | Graduate; a Diploma in Company Law, Labour Laws or Public Administration is desirable | One of the most age-generous UPSC recruitments: a Group-A officer post open to 35, three years past the CSE ceiling for General candidates, with no attempt cap. Relaxable by up to 10 years for PwBD candidates.Practise its previous year questions → | upsc.gov.in ↗ |
| EPFO — Enforcement Officer / Accounts Officer (EO/AO)UPSC (for EPFO)Closes 28–37 | Up to 30as on age reckoned as on the prescribed closing date for submission of the online application — 18 August 2025 for this advertisement | Graduate | Group B (Non-Ministerial) posts in the Employees’ Provident Fund Organisation, recruited by UPSC. Last advertised July 2025; no EO/AO vacancy has appeared in a 2026 advertisement so far.Practise its previous year questions → | upsc.gov.in ↗ |
| Combined Graduate Level (CGL)SSCCloses 28–37 | 18–32, post-wise (bands: 18–27, 18–30, 20–30, 18–32)as on 1 August 2026 | Bachelor’s degree for most posts. Junior Statistical Officer additionally needs 60% in Mathematics at 12th level or Statistics at degree level; Statistical Investigator Gr-II needs a degree in Statistics, Maths, Economics or a related quantitative subject | The flagship graduate exam: Income Tax Inspector, Assistant Section Officer in central ministries, Auditor, Excise Inspector. No attempt cap — the word does not appear in the 132-page notice.Practise its previous year questions → | ssc.gov.in ↗ |
| Selection Post (Phase) examSSCCloses 28–37 | Eleven post-wise bands, from 18–25 up to 18–35as on 1 January 2026 | Post-wise at three levels — Matriculation, 10+2 and graduation and above. Many posts also require prior experience acquired after the qualification | The most age-generous of the SSC exams checked: it fills posts across many ministries, and the top band runs to 35, three years past CGL’s ceiling. Six of the eleven bands start at 20, 21, 22 or 23 rather than 18. | ssc.gov.in ↗ |
An em dash means we could not confirm that field in an official source, not that no limit exists — open the official link before you rely on it. Age limits shown are the General/UR ceiling; OBC, SC/ST, PwBD and ex-servicemen relaxations apply on top.
Teaching is one of the most age-proof routes in this guide. The NTA’s UGC-NET bulletin says it in so many words: “There is no upper age limit in applying for UGC-NET for Assistant Professor.”
School teaching is almost as open. Post Graduate Teacher posts at KVS, NVS and EMRS run to 40, and the two teacher eligibility tests we checked, CTET and Haryana’s HTET, have no age limit. The practical requirement for PGT and TGT posts is a B.Ed (primary posts ask for a D.El.Ed instead); either takes time to acquire, so start it early if this is your route.
| Exam & conducting body | Age limit (General) | Eligibility | What to know | Official |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UGC-NET — Assistant Professor eligibilityNational Testing Agency (for UGC)Open at 35+ | No upper age limit | A Master’s degree with at least 55% (50% for OBC-NCL, SC, ST, PwD and third-gender candidates). Final-year candidates may apply provisionally | The NTA bulletin states there is no upper age limit for Assistant Professor eligibility — and it sets no attempt cap either. It qualifies you for lectureship, which you then apply for college by college; it is an eligibility test, not a job offer. | cdnbbsr.s3waas.gov.in ↗ |
| UGC-NET — Junior Research Fellowship (JRF)National Testing Agency (for UGC)Closes 28–37 | Up to 30as on the first day of the month the exam ends (1 June 2026 for the June cycle) | A Master’s degree with at least 55% (50% for reserved categories), as for Assistant Professor — or a four-year bachelor’s degree with at least 75%, which qualifies for JRF but not for Assistant Professor | A funded research fellowship leading to a PhD. Relaxable by up to 5 years for OBC-NCL, SC, ST, PwD, third-gender and women candidates, and for research experience — but total relaxation is capped at five years. | cdnbbsr.s3waas.gov.in ↗ |
| KVS & NVS — PGT, TGT and PRTKendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan & Navodaya Vidyalaya SamitiOpen at 35+ | PGT up to 40; TGT up to 35; PRT up to 30as on not stated in the Recruitment Rules themselves; the joint Notification 01/2025 reckons eligibility as on its own cut-off date, which we could not read because the parent notification is no longer hosted (only its corrigenda are) | PGT: a Master’s in the subject with at least 50% plus a B.Ed (or an NCTE integrated course). TGT: a degree in the subject plus a B.Ed (or a four-year integrated course). KVS PRT: Class 12 with at least 50% plus a two-year D.El.Ed. Both also need a CTET pass | Central-school teaching with a ceiling of 40 for Post Graduate Teachers. The ceiling falls to 35 for TGT and 30 for PRT, and Navodaya Vidyalayas have no PRT cadre at all. | cdnbbsr.s3waas.gov.in ↗ |
| Eklavya Model Residential Schools (EMRS)NESTS, Ministry of Tribal AffairsOpen at 35+ | PGT up to 40; TGT up to 35; Principal up to 50as on 23.10.2025 — "The cut-off date for determining various eligibility criteria (Educational Qualifications, age limit etc.) will be 23.10.2025", and the bulletin states this stays fixed even if the application deadline is extended | PGT: a Master’s in the subject with at least 50% plus a B.Ed (or an NCTE integrated course). TGT: a degree plus B.Ed and CTET | Nationwide residential schools for tribal students, recruited centrally by NESTS. The same 40-year PGT ceiling as KVS. | nests.tribal.gov.in ↗ |
| CTET & State Teacher Eligibility TestsCBSE / State boardsOpen at 35+ | No age limit (CTET and HTET verified) | Set by NCTE, not by the test: typically a D.El.Ed for primary classes and a degree plus B.Ed for upper-primary | An eligibility gateway to government-school teaching, not a recruitment. CTET and HTET, the two tests checked, carry no age limit and no attempt cap; the age limit that matters is the one on the teaching post you later apply for, which each recruiter sets. | cdnbbsr.s3waas.gov.in ↗ |
An em dash means we could not confirm that field in an official source, not that no limit exists — open the official link before you rely on it. Age limits shown are the General/UR ceiling; OBC, SC/ST, PwBD and ex-servicemen relaxations apply on top.
If you studied law, three services are open, and they suit different stages of life. Civil Judge is the entry cadre. Assistant Prosecution Officer runs to between 39 and 42 in the states checked. And District Judge, recruited directly from the Bar, needs seven years’ practice in all six states checked, and is open to General candidates from 35 to 45.
Delhi, under rules amended after the Supreme Court’s May 2025 judgment, and Gujarat, whose rule predates it, require practice at the Bar before you can sit the Civil Judge exam. A fresh law graduate should check their own state’s rule first.
| Exam & conducting body | Age limit (General) | Eligibility | What to know | Official |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Civil Judge (Junior Division) / Judicial ServicesState High Courts / State PSCsPost-wise | Set by each state: Delhi up to 32; Gujarat up to 35; Rajasthan 21–under 40as on varies — Rajasthan reckons on 1 January following the closing date, Gujarat on the closing date itself, Delhi on 1 January of the year applications are invited | An LLB alone no longer qualifies in several states. Delhi now requires at least 3 years’ practice as an advocate, and Gujarat requires current practice on the closing date | The entry judicial cadre, and a route where the eligibility rules have tightened: Delhi now requires three years’ practice at the Bar, following the Supreme Court’s May 2025 judgment, and Gujarat already required current practice in its 2024-25 round, so two of the three states read require practice at the Bar before you can sit. Check your own state’s current rule before planning a fresh-graduate attempt. | hcraj.nic.in ↗ |
| Assistant Prosecution Officer (APO)State PSCs / boardsOpen at 35+ | Set by each state: Haryana 21–42; Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh 21–under 40as on varies — Haryana on the last date for applications, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh on 01.01.2027 | A law degree plus a state-language requirement; Haryana also requires Bar Council enrolment | The prosecution cadre in the states, and age-generous: two of the three states read run to just under 40, and Haryana runs to 42.
| hpsc.gov.in ↗ |
| Higher Judicial Service — District Judge (direct from the Bar)State High CourtsOpen at 35+ | 35–45 in all six states verifiedas on varies — Delhi, Punjab, Haryana and Gujarat reckon on the last date for applications; Rajasthan on 1 January following the closing date; Uttar Pradesh on 01.01.2024 for the 2023 cycle | Seven years’ continuous practice as an advocate as on the closing date — uniform across all six states checked | A second-career route for practising advocates, with a minimum age of 35. The General-category window was 35 to 45 in every state read — Delhi, Rajasthan, Punjab, Haryana, Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh — though some close just before the 45th birthday and others allow 45 itself. A ceiling of 48 applies only to reserved categories, in Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh.
| delhihighcourt.nic.in ↗ |
An em dash means we could not confirm that field in an official source, not that no limit exists — open the official link before you rely on it. Age limits shown are the General/UR ceiling; OBC, SC/ST, PwBD and ex-servicemen relaxations apply on top.
Your reading on international relations, economy and governance is relevant here. This is the slowest route, and the UN’s entry exam for young professionals is closed to Indians.
The UN Young Professionals Programme is closed to Indians. India is not on the UN’s participating-country list for 2022, 2023, 2024 or 2025, and the UN says nationals of unlisted countries cannot apply. India also sponsors no Junior Professional Officer posts.
The UN routes open to Indians include volunteer assignments, internships and regular agency vacancies. UN Volunteer specialist assignments run from 27 to 80, and regular agency vacancies carry no general age requirement. Both are filled on experience, so expect to apply mid-career.
| Exam & conducting body | Age limit (General) | Eligibility | What to know | Official |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UN Volunteers (UNV)United Nations VolunteersOpen at 35+ | Specialist volunteers 27–80; Youth and University volunteers 18–26as on not stated | The real gates are experience, qualification and language (English, French or Spanish); most assignments need a diploma or degree | A realistic way to build a UN record from India. Age is barely a constraint for the specialist category; experience band and language decide eligibility. | unv.org ↗ |
| UN agency jobs & internshipsIndividual UN agenciesOpen at 35+ | No general age gate; set per vacancy (WHO internships: at least 20)as on see each example | Set per vacancy: the UN states you may apply if you meet its education, work-experience and language requirements | Regular UN job openings carry no general age requirement — the UN’s own FAQ says so of its senior positions. They require specialist experience, so expect to apply mid-career. | who.int ↗ |
| WHO — India-based and regional rolesWorld Health OrganizationOpen at 35+ | Set per vacancy (internship floor: 20)as on not stated | — | India-based professional posts sit in WHO’s National Professional Officer category, open to Indian nationals. Requirements are set post by post; no blanket age ceiling is stated. | who.int ↗ |
An em dash means we could not confirm that field in an official source, not that no limit exists — open the official link before you rely on it. Age limits shown are the General/UR ceiling; OBC, SC/ST, PwBD and ex-servicemen relaxations apply on top.
| Exam & conducting body | Age limit (General) | Eligibility | What to know | Official |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| World Bank Group — Young Professionals Program (YPP)World Bank GroupOpen at 35+ | No age limit (the cut-off is experience) | A graduate degree in a relevant field and 2 to 6 years of full-time professional experience | Open to Indians, since India is a member. The World Bank states there is no age requirement; the limit is experience, and more than six years of full-time work after your bachelor’s makes you ineligible. | worldbank.org ↗ |
| Asian Development Bank — Young Professionals ProgramAsian Development BankCloses 28–37 | 32 or younger on joiningas on age reckoned 'upon joining ADB' | A degree in economics, finance, law, public policy or another relevant field (a postgraduate degree is preferred), at least 3 years’ relevant experience, and English | India is a founding member of ADB, so Indians can apply. The age rule is firm: 32 or younger on the day you join. | adb.org ↗ |
| IMF — Economist ProgramInternational Monetary FundCloses 28–37 | Under 34 on entryas on age reckoned on entry into the programme | A recent PhD, or within a year of completing one, in a relevant field; nationality of an IMF member country | For PhD economists only. India has been an IMF member since 1945. Bachelor’s graduates have a separate IMF Research Analyst Program. | imf.org ↗ |
| AIIB Graduate ProgramAsian Infrastructure Investment BankOpen at 35+ | No age limit statedas on not stated | A Master’s with 1–2 years’ relevant experience, or a bachelor’s with 2–3 years; fluent English | A two-year rotational programme open to Indians. The New Development Bank (the BRICS bank) lists no graduate programme. | aiib.org ↗ |
An em dash means we could not confirm that field in an official source, not that no limit exists — open the official link before you rely on it. Age limits shown are the General/UR ceiling; OBC, SC/ST, PwBD and ex-servicemen relaxations apply on top.
| Exam & conducting body | Age limit (General) | Eligibility | What to know | Official |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chevening Scholarship (UK)UK FCDOOpen at 35+ | No upper age limit | Citizen of an eligible country (India is), a degree that qualifies for a UK Master’s, and at least two years’ work experience after it — 2,800 hours | A fully funded one-year UK Master’s. Age is no bar; work experience is. You must return home for at least two years after the award. | chevening.org ↗ |
| Fulbright-Nehru Fellowships (USA)USIEFOpen at 35+ | No age limit | An Indian citizen who undertakes to return to India. Employees of the central and state governments — including IAS, IPS, IRS and IFS officers — cannot apply; researchers, scientists and academics at CSIR, ISRO, DRDO, the IITs and other centrally funded institutions are exempt | No age limit, but there is currently no Master’s route, and serving central and state government employees are barred from every Fulbright-Nehru fellowship, except researchers and academics at government laboratories, the IITs and centrally funded universities. It suits a researcher or professional outside government. | usief.org.in ↗ |
| Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships (UK)Commonwealth Scholarship CommissionOpen at 35+ | No age limit | For Indians, the Master’s scheme through Ministry of Education nomination, or a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship through a UK university; a first degree of at least upper-second class. Not open if you have already studied at Master’s level in the UK | Indians can apply for the Master’s scholarship through Ministry of Education nomination, and are also eligible for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships (through UK universities) and Commonwealth Fellowships. The Commonwealth PhD scholarship is limited to least-developed and fragile states and does not cover India. | cscuk.fcdo.gov.uk ↗ |
| DAAD, Erasmus Mundus and MEXT scholarshipsGermany, the European Union and JapanPost-wise | DAAD development courses: no age limit, degree normally under six years old · Erasmus Mundus: none stated · MEXT research students: born on or after 2 Apr 1992as on see each example | Differs by scheme. DAAD’s development-related courses want a bachelor’s with above-average results and at least two years’ related work experience after it | Funded postgraduate study in Germany, the EU and Japan, all open to Indians. Australia Awards is not: India is not a participating country. | www2.daad.de ↗ |
An em dash means we could not confirm that field in an official source, not that no limit exists — open the official link before you rely on it. Age limits shown are the General/UR ceiling; OBC, SC/ST, PwBD and ex-servicemen relaxations apply on top.
| Exam & conducting body | Age limit (General) | Eligibility | What to know | Official |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Solar Alliance & CDRI (India-hosted)International Solar Alliance / Coalition for Disaster Resilient InfrastructureOpen at 35+ | No age rule below ISA’s retirement age of 65as on not stated | Set per vacancy. ISA recruits its National Professional Officer and General Service staff only from India | Both are headquartered in India, and ISA’s national-category posts are reserved for Indian nationals. ISA’s old domain no longer works; it now runs at isa.int. | doc.isa.int ↗ |
| Policy think tanks (ORF, CSEP, Takshashila)Independent institutionsOpen at 35+ | No age rule statedas on not applicable | Writing ability and subject fit rather than a fixed degree. ORF’s internship asks for a research-writing sample of about 800 words | Indian institutions that hire on writing and subject knowledge. ORF takes internship applications through the year. | orfonline.org ↗ |
| Green Climate FundGreen Climate Fund, SongdoOpen at 35+ | No age rule statedas on not stated | GCF hires all nationalities. Interns must be enrolled in, or recently graduated from, a Master’s or PhD in a related field | GCF hires Indians on the same terms as every other nationality. GGGI and IRENA could not be verified. | greenclimate.fund ↗ |
| International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)International NGOsOpen at 35+ | No age rule statedas on not applicable | Set per opening: training, experience and language | ICRC hires Indians as resident staff in India and as mobile staff abroad; mobile staff are never posted to their own country. Save the Children India now operates as Bal Raksha Bharat. | icrc.org ↗ |
An em dash means we could not confirm that field in an official source, not that no limit exists — open the official link before you rely on it. Age limits shown are the General/UR ceiling; OBC, SC/ST, PwBD and ex-servicemen relaxations apply on top.
UPSC’s own PRATIBHA Setu (formerly the Public Disclosure Scheme) lets verified employers, private organisations included, see the details of willing candidates who cleared every stage of a UPSC exam but missed the final list. Short of that, private employers hire on skills the preparation builds: reading dense material quickly, writing a structured answer against the clock, and following policy week by week.
Those habits suit policy research, public-affairs roles, journalism, and building study material for other aspirants. In each, you will be judged on a writing sample or a portfolio, not a rank.
If this is your route, build a portfolio: published analyses, a policy brief, a body of answer writing.
Start with the options that reuse what you already have. Government exams that test the same general studies — state PCS, CAPF Assistant Commandant, UPSC's EPFO recruitment tests and SSC CGL — are the natural first step. Teaching is among the most age-proof routes: UGC-NET for Assistant Professor eligibility has no upper age limit, and Post Graduate Teacher posts at KVS, NVS and EMRS run to 40. Law graduates can sit the state prosecution exams, and the judicial services once they meet the state's practice rule (Delhi now asks for three years at the Bar; District Judge needs seven). Development and policy work is a longer route that rewards the same reading.
Several routes stay open past 30. UGC-NET for Assistant Professor has no upper age limit. KVS, NVS and EMRS Post Graduate Teachers run to 40, IBPS RRB Officer Scale-III to under 40 (but only with five years' experience as an officer in a bank or financial institution), NABARD Development Assistant and the EPFO Assistant Provident Fund Commissioner recruitment to 35, and SSC's Selection Post to 35 for posts in its top age band (its other ten bands close by 30). Few of these cap attempts, so the age window is the limit that matters. Several home-state PCS exams also run well past 30.
For government exams, directly: the general studies you read for UPSC is the core of the state PCS, CAPF, CDS, EPFO and SSC CGL general-awareness syllabi, and UPSC's own Indian Forest Service Examination shares the CSE Prelims paper. Outside government, the habits carry over rather than the syllabus; they suit policy research, teaching and development work, though none of those careers hires on a UPSC attempt alone.
Not at present. The UN Young Professionals Programme is open only to nationals of countries on that year's participating list, and India is not on the list for 2022, 2023, 2024 or 2025. The UN states that nationals of unlisted countries are not eligible to apply. India also sponsors no Junior Professional Officer posts. Realistic UN routes for Indians are UN Volunteer assignments, whose specialist category runs from 27 to 80, and regular UN agency vacancies, which carry no general age requirement. Both are filled on experience.
Set the rule before the result. Decide in advance the number of attempts or years you will give, and the score or stage that would justify one more. Tie that decision to your age window for your backup: an aspirant whose best alternative closes at 32 has a different deadline from one whose alternative has no upper age limit.
Before you choose a backup, work through one of its real papers. CAPF, CDS, EPFO and state PCS previous year questions are free to practise.
Sources: each route’s official notification, recruitment or service rules, advertisement or careers page, linked row by row — the NTA UGC-NET information bulletin, the UN Careers YPP pages and participating-country lists, and the UNDP JPO Service Centre among them. The advice on how to choose is our judgement, not a sourced fact.
Last checked against the official documents: 12 September 2026.